Wednesday, July 5, 2017

Spotlight on: Star Scouts by Mike Lawrence

Star Scouts 
by Mike Lawrence
Published March 2017
First Second
Graphic Novel
Middle Grade
Copy provided by publisher

Goodreads Summary
Avani is the new kid in town, and she’s not happy about it. Everyone in school thinks she’s weird, especially the girls in her Flower Scouts troop. Is it so weird to think scouting should be about fun and adventure, not about makeovers and boys, boys, boys?

But everything changes when Avani is “accidentally” abducted by a spunky alien named Mabel. Mabel is a scout too—a Star Scout. Collecting alien specimens (like Avani) goes with the territory, along with teleportation and jetpack racing. Avani might be weird, but in the Star Scouts she fits right in. If she can just survive Camp Andromeda, and keep her dad from discovering that she’s left planet Earth, she’s in for the adventure of a lifetime.

My Thoughts
I enjoyed reading this fantasy graphic novel and I know many students in my 4th grade class that would really love it. The illustrations are great and there is enough "potty humor" and action to keep kids interested. I would definitly add it to my classroom library. 

Who Would Like It
Fans of Earthling or Zita the Spacegirl graphic novels can add Star Scouts to their TBR lists. 

See what others have to say...

No comments:

Post a Comment