Wednesday, March 18, 2015

Nonfiction Picture Book Wednesday-Separate is Never Equal by Duncan Tonatiuh



My Friend Alyson Beecher at Kid Lit Frenzy hosts weekly link up to share Nonfiction Picture Books. Please visit her amazing website.


by Duncan Tonatiuh
Published 2014 by Harry N. Abrahms
Nonfiction Picture Book
40 Pages
Review copy obtained from public library

Goodreads Summary
Almost 10 years before Brown vs. Board of Education, Sylvia Mendez and her parents helped end school segregation in California. An American citizen of Mexican and Puerto Rican heritage who spoke and wrote perfect English, Mendez was denied enrollment to a “Whites only” school. Her parents took action by organizing the Hispanic community and filing a lawsuit in federal district court. Their success eventually brought an end to the era of segregated education in California.

My Thoughts
This story of the Mendez family's fight to allow their children (and all children) to attend their neighborhood school is an important story to share. It shows how real change happens when people work together for what is right. Duncan Tonatiuh does a wonderful job of telling the story so that children will understand what was happening during the time period. With a good amount of text on each page, I feel that this book is a great one to share with older students. I recommend it for grades 2-5.  

Use this book:
As part of a unit on civil rights.
As a way to discuss fairness and equality.
As a mentor text to discuss character traits. 

Resources:
The author discusses the book in this video.



Here is a nice book trailer

Here is a 4 minute video about Sylvia's story.

Monday, March 16, 2015

It's Monday, What Are You Reading?-March 16, 2015

Please visit the amazing blogs: Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers who host this terrific meme each week.


Here are the books I read this week. Click on the covers to learn more about them.

Really cute book about self-acceptance. Grades K-3. 

Giveaway ends at midnight tonight (EST)
Great middle grade series. 

Currently Reading
Still loving this one!

Thursday, March 12, 2015

A Review of Berenson Schemes #3: Jack at the Helm

Berenson Schemes #3: Jack at the Helm
by Lisa Doan
Illustrated by Ivica Stevanovic
Expected Publication April 1, 2015
Lerner Classroom
152 Pages
Review copy provided by Blueslip Media

Summary
In this third installment Jack's parents continue their streak of continuously losing Jack. Despite his attempts at educating them on how to be good parents, they have decided to start a new religion, Nosnereb, in Nepal. As has happened in previous Berenson Schemes, careful, level-headed Jack gets separated from his parents. This time he is with Harry, a free-spirited teenager who is trying to "find himself" by traveling around the world. Harry and Jack are about as opposite as two people can be. Yet, they need to work together as they try to get to "Sangrilala" and Jack's parents.
As they travel down a river, the two must face crocodiles, navigate rapids, boulders and waterfalls. Through it all a special bond is formed as the two learn more about each other and themselves. 

My Thoughts
This book (and series) is delightful. I really enjoyed harry and Jack's relationship as they try to find Jack's parents. I think children will like Harry a lot with his laid-back style and his frequent use of the word "dude". There is a lot of action as the pair face challenges on the river. This quick pace will keep students engaged and wanting to know what will become of the boys. With text that is easy enough to read, but not too simple and a length of 152 pages, Jack at the Helm is perfect for students who are ready for chapter books that are a bit longer. There are a few entertaining pictures scattered throughout that readers will enjoy. 

I would recommend this book and series to any reader who likes Magic Tree House or Time Warp Trio books. Great for grades 2-4. 

Info about the Author

Lisa Doan is the author of The Berenson Schemes series – Jack the Castaway, Jack and the Wild Life and Jack at the Helm. She received a master’s degree in writing for children and young adults from Vermont College of Fine Arts. Her extensive travel in Africa and Asia and eight years spent living in the Caribbean were the basis for the series’ international settings. She has hatched her share of harebrained schemes, including backpacking alone from Morocco to Kenya, hitchhiking across the Sahara with Nigerian car dealers, sauntering off on an ill-advised, one-person walking safari, and opening a restaurant with no actual restaurant experience. Her occupations have included master scuba diving instructor, New York City headhunter, owner-chef of a “sort of Chinese-like” restaurant, television show set medic, and deputy prothonotary of a county court. Visit the author and download free, CCSS-aligned curriculum guides at lisadoan.org.

Other books in the Berenson Schemes series.


Jack the Castaway








Jack and the Wild Life












Follow along on the blog tour!
 Mar2
Just a Little Creativity     
 Mar3
The OWL for YA
Mar 4
Once Upon a Story
Mar 5
Kid Lit Frenzy
Mar 6
Children's Book Review
Mar9 
The Compulsive Reader
Mar10
Books Unbound
Mar11
Geo Librarian
Mar12
The Late Bloomer's Book Blog
 Mar 13
Sharpread and The Hiding Spot 


http://thehidingspot.blogspot.com

Enter below to win copies of all THREE books in the Berenson Schemes series!!
a Rafflecopter giveaway


Wednesday, March 4, 2015

Nonfiction Picture Book Wednesday-Little Melba and Her Big Trombone



My Friend Alyson Beecher at Kid Lit Frenzy hosts weekly link up to share Nonfiction Picture Books. Please visit her amazing website.
by Katheryn Russel-Brown
Illustrated by Frank Morrison
Published September 1, 2014 
Lee and Low Books
Nonfiction Picture book
40 pages
Coretta Scott King Honor book

Goodreads Summary
Melba Doretta Liston loved the sounds of music from as far back as she could remember. As a child, she daydreamed about beats and lyrics, and hummed along with the music from her family s Majestic radio. At age seven, Melba fell in love with a big, shiny trombone, and soon taught herself to play the instrument. By the time she was a teenager, Melba s extraordinary gift for music led her to the world of jazz. She joined a band led by trumpet player Gerald Wilson and toured the country. Overcoming obstacles of race and gender, Melba went on to become a famed trombone player and arranger, spinning rhythms, harmonies, and melodies into gorgeous songs for all the jazz greats of the twentieth century: Randy Weston, Duke Ellington, Count Basie, Billie Holiday, and Quincy Jones, to name just a few. Brimming with ebullience and the joy of making music, Little Melba and Her Big Trombone is a fitting tribute to a trailblazing musician and a great unsung hero of jazz."

My Thoughts
I love learning about lesser-known, but important people. Melba discovered her musical talent at a very young age. Children can learn a lot about determination and perseverance during difficult times from Melba's story. They will also learn about the time period and the discrimination that was prevalent at the time. Frank Morrison's illustrations are absolutely wonderful. It is easy to see why Melba's story earned a Coretta Scott King 2015 honor award. 
Russel-Brown uses several idioms throughout the book like: "piece of cake" and "rock bottom". She also uses some of the language of the period like "swell" and "kinfolk". 
Little Melba and her Big Trombone would make a great addition to a biography picture book collection. It could also be used during a unit on American History 1940's-60's I would recommend it for grades 1-5. 

Resources:
The Girls in the Band-more info about Melba and her career. 

Monday, March 2, 2015

It's Monday, What Are You Reading? March 2, 2015

Please visit the amazing blogs: Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers who host this terrific meme each week.


Here are the books I read this week. Click on the covers to learn more about them.

A story about labels and acceptance. Good for Grades K-4.

A fun, fun, FUN interactive book for the little ones.

A beautifully illustrated wordless picture book about how drawing can transport you to different worlds. 

Currently Listening
I struggle with many of the early Newbery winners. This one is not easy to listen to so far.

Currently Reading
LOVING this one!!!

What Are You Reading Friends?

Monday, February 23, 2015

It's Monday, What Are You Reading-Feb. 23, 2015

Please visit the amazing blogs: Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers who host this terrific meme each week.

Be sure to enter my giveaway of a signed hardcover copy of Lynda Mullaly Hunt's Fish in a tree here.

Thanks to a trip to the book store, I was able to read a bunch of picture books. Click on the covers to learn more about them.


Really cute book about counting and sharing. K-2

A book about fate and friendship. K-4

I really love the illustrations in this book about 
the ingredients necessary to make a good book. K-3

Neat story of creativity, persistence and making 
mistakes. Good for K-3.

LOVED this adorable parallel story. Great for any 
child who has ever been afraid of monsters. K-3.

Betty wants to peel her banana by herself. If you have 
spent any time around toddlers, you will totally recognize this scenario. 

I finished....
Thanks to my friend Jason Lewis for lending me this arc. 
Loved it! Good for grades 6+. Review later.

Currently Reading....
Really loving so far!

What Are You Reading Friends? 

Friday, February 20, 2015

Dory Fantasmagory by Abby Hanlon

Dory Fantasmagory 
by Abby Hanlon
Published 2014 by Dial Publishing
160 Pages
Early Chapter Book
Fiction
Copy obtained from public library

Goodreads Summary
To say that six-year-old Dory has a wildly creative imagination is an understatement. Her family calls her Rascal because she pesters them with too many questions and is a general pest to her brother and sister. She has developed a rich imaginary life with her imaginary best friend Mary. In an attempt to get her to stop acting "like a baby" her siblings tell her that a person name Mrs. Gobble Gracker is looking for her. Mrs. Gobble Gracker eats babies so they warn Dory to stop acting like a baby.  This only fuels Dory's imagination further as she starts firing questions about Mrs. Gobble Gracker. 
Can Dory escape Mrs. Gobble Gracker? Will she stop acting like a baby? 

My Thoughts
Dory is adorable! This book is filled with Dory's real and imaginary events. She plots to escape Mrs. Gobble Gracker, annoys her siblings to no end, goes through a phase where she pretends to be a dog, yells and has lots of temper tantrums. Fans of Junie B. Jones or Clementine will love Dory. At 160 pages with lots of hilarious kid-like pictures to support the text, this early chapter book will feel like a "big kid book".  I can imagine many children wanting to tell about the next crazy thing Dory has done in their book. I hope for many more Dory books to come.